Who? What? Where?  

About Us

Below is a profile of the nationally-syndicated radio drama program, "Shoestring Radio Theatre".


Founded in 1988 by Producer Monica Sullivan, "Shoestring Radio Theatre" specializes in creating, producing, and presenting original radio plays by contemporary writers as well as adaptations of traditional favorites.

"Shoestring Radio Theatre" is at the forefront of a growing movement to keep the art of radio drama alive for future generations. The independent troupe, which is based in San Francisco, California, draws on a talented pool of playwrights from around the world and Bay Area actors to create and perform its productions. The troupe has amassed a body of work (over 400 shows and 35 shorts) that is impossible to pigeon-hole, producing everything from classic murder mysteries, "radio noir," and historical dramas to contemporary comedies, thrillers, and science fiction. Now in its 30th year of production, Shoestring Radio Theatre produces 24 new half-hour programs a year at the Mary Sano Studio of Duncan Dancing in San Francisco.


Shoestring Radio Theatre" aired on flagship station KUSF, San Francisco from October 1991 through January 2011 when the station closed down (the program aired locally in Berkeley from 1988 - 1991). Each Shoestring production airs first nationally on our web site (www.shoestring.org/listen.html) and then also nationally across the country on the Public Radio Satellite System starting the following Friday for a week. Shoestring Radio Theatre also can be heard nationally online at KXSF FM based in San Francisco and locally on KXSF-LP 102.5 FM on Sunday afternoons from 3:30 pm to 3:59 pm Pacific time.

"Shoestring Radio Theatre" debuted on the Public Radio Satellite Network (which reaches hundreds of public radio stations across the country) in July, 1993, and has since become one of the most prominent radio drama troupes in the country. The program also is heard on Golden Hours Radio in the state of Oregon and the Companion Radio Network (transmitted to convalescent homes, veterans hospitals, and rehabilitation centers throughout the country).

In total, the program has a confirmed line-up of 111 stations in North America:

United States: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia and Washington.
Canada: Montreal

"Shoestring Radio Theatre" uploads nationally to the Content Depot of the Public Radio Satellite System every Thursday morning and is available for download by Public Radio Stations the following day for a week. "Shoestring" airs on different days and at different times across the country on the various public radio stations which download the program from the satellite. Please call the Program Director at your local public radio station for information about schedule and air times in your market. If we are not being aired in your city, please contact local public radio stations in your market and request "Shoestring Radio Theatre." Radio stations should contact us at for more information about how to download the program for free from the satellite.

Towers  Find out if we have an affiliate in your market!


"Shoestring Radio Theatre" is...

Producer: Monica Sullivan
Co-Producer: Steve Rubenstein
Artists-In-Residence: Greeta Ahart
Rob Avila
Dawn Bailey
Tom Backos
Heather Clisby
Tamar Cohn
Cynthia Cravens
Erik R. Deckers
Stephen Dietz
Chrissy Dodds
Kathy Dominici
Paul Dougherty
Melissa Flower
Geoffrey Gallegos
Julie Long Gallegos
Charlene Godard
Geoff Godard
Frances Germeshausen
Virginia Handley
Mim Herzenstein
Russ Hickman
Marilyn Hughes
Steven Kacsmar
Byron Lambie
Adam Ling
Ian Mackenzie
Pam Mackenzie
George McRae
Frank Munnich
Paul Nowack
Annette Oliveira
Randy Parker
Louis Parnell
Nico Pemantle
Damien Pickering
LeAnne Rumbell
Bryan Session
Anne Stone
Darryl Standring
Randolph Varney
Clinton Vidal
B.K. Wells
Perry Whittle
Jeff Wincek
Jonathan W. Wind
Webmaster: Randy Parker